Owasso DUI Attorneys
Oklahoma law is very specific about Driving Under the Influence (DUI). If you are operating any type of motor vehicle and your blood alcohol level is 0.8 or higher, you are considered DUI. A DUI arrest could lead to:
• License suspension or revocation
• Large fines
• Jail Time
Under Oklahoma law you can also be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). A DWI occurs when you have been consuming alcohol, but your blood alcohol limit has not reached 0.8. DWI can also carry very stiff fines, community service requirements and a potential loss of driving privileges.
A DUI Conviction Will Change Your Life
A DUI conviction should be looked at very seriously. A conviction can result in jail time, a loss of driver’s license, and a large fine. Even for first time convictions you have the potential for all of these punishments. Additionally, you will face court and license fees, additional costs to your car insurance, added costs for having to have other forms of transportation, and potential losses to your income. A felony conviction can impact a job, even if it does not concern driving.
If you have been arrested for a second time for DUI or more, it will be in your best interest to seek out legal representation from an Owasso DUI attorney. The penalties associated with multiple convictions for DUI are significantly increased.
For a second or third conviction, you could face up to 10 years in prison, be charged a fine of up to $5,000, loose your license for a minimum of three years, and be required to install an ignition interlock device for an additional three years after your driving privileges have been restored. These are all life-changing outcomes to a conviction.
Underage DUI Convictions
If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 and are charged with a DUI, you face very serious consequences. If convicted, you will face a minimum of 3 months license suspension, a potential $500 fine, community service requirements, or court ordered substance abuse counseling.
This can have a serious impact on your adult life. An underage conviction will cause you to pay very high car insurance rates, can prevent you from being hired into a position or advancing in your career, impact college and potentially cause you excessive financial burdens .
Anyone who has been charged with an underage DUI should immediately call a Tulsa DUI lawyer to protect their rights and find the best defense for their case.
Yes, You Do Need An Attorney
When you have been charged with a DUI you have the right to defend yourself in Court. You can go before the Court and explain your side of the story and hope for the best. In reality, you are risking facing the worst outcome to your case. An attorney has the ability to bring their experience and knowledge to a DUI case that the average person does not have themselves.
If you are facing a DUI charge, you need to speak with an Owasso DUI attorney. Your attorney can help you build a solid defense for the charges. A good defense will allow you to get the best possible outcome to your case.
Your Tulsa DUI lawyer will address issues such as the validity of the blood alcohol testing, the issues surrounding the arrest, and even medical conditions that you may have that would cause you to test higher on a breathalyzer. Additionally, your lawyer will look at all of the facts of your side of the case and apply them to your case in a manner that is beneficial to your cause.